06
Oct
11

Danced with the devil, but I don’t dance.

So my dance with the corporate world was a short one to say the least. In fact it was exactly one week! A long dance if we were actually dancing. I managed to escape with only some mild bruising, two broken toes and a bit of a tinny blood taste in my mouth. I know a lot of people were probably hedging bets on me not lasting too long in the corporate working world, or thought it was pretty strange that I had even bothered to enter it in the first place. I hope you made good money you fucking doubters. I want a percentage of whatever you won! Seriously… I’m unemployed again. I need the money.

For the record though, despite ending my dabble in to the corporate side of life, I’m not even mad. Even though I suppose I fucking should be. I think it’s possible that, despite this set back, after it seemed my life was finally coming together after so long, it might be for the best. Working 45 hours a week 6 days a week left little time for the stuff that made me happy despite it all. Like writing on here for you miserable fucks, contributing to sites like DIY, and being able to do other work for great people on great ideas that I really believe in. Most importantly to me, I also get to be around more for my mother, who hasn’t had the easiest year regarding her health. Even if I can’t make it easier financially I can still do all the stuff I was doing before I got hired.

At the end of the day, I’m not one to take shit, or go back on my decisions. I’ll admit that my actions may not always be wise, but I’ll never go back on them and I can still say that. So it’s back to the soul-destroying process of applying and being denied thousands of jobs till I hit upon that elusive luck that will get me in to a permanent position one day, hopefully for keeps.

Lesson to take away; Stick to your guns and don’t take shit. You may not be popular, and the consequences severe, but you’ll always keep the respect of the one person you need it from the most… Yourself.

Same kind of thing in the words of someone you might appreciate it from more:

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” – Steve Jobs RIP

4 Responses to “Danced with the devil, but I don’t dance.”


  1. October 6, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    Like. Love.

    And in the words of Rorshach from The Watchmen, “Never compromise” 😉

  2. 3 sarona
    October 11, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    good stuff russell. Hope you are well.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives


